A 68-Day Change

ghita-photo

Why did you choose the Bachelor? A question I often asked and was asked in the past two months. For me, it was pretty easy to answer: I fell in love with the program. All of it. It was probably what people call unconditional love. And I’m not exaggerating the least bit.

After I’d been accepted in the Bachelor , it became my source of motivation. As I dragged myself to the finish line of high school with the final exams’ burden heavy on my shoulders. My light at the end of the tunnel was the Bachelor.

6 months after the acceptance letter, here I am in London having the time of my life.

Before starting school, or probably even before deciding to actually come to ESCP I had a hard time understanding the true meaning of the word “management”. For me it was a very vague concept, even with all the dictionary definitions and the Almighty Wikipedia. Now that I think of it, it was probably because I’ve never truly had to seriously manage a project. Being a 17-year-old who has never really lived on her own is probably another reason.

Still, when I entered the airport in Marrakesh to fly to London, something did change in me. I realised that at that moment I was in charge of everything. And let me tell you, that’s a pretty nice feeling.

What I’m enjoying the most currently is managing the collective project. Through it I’m contributing to the fight for gender equality and learning how to manage a team of culturally diverse people.

How? Why? I’m learning the how. But the why is probably thanks to the way the Bachelor was designed. We get to learn useful theory and apply it through projects. And the biggest one is the Annual Collective Project. The beauty of it is that we get to chose what it’s about, with whom we work and how much we want to achieve.

Now, I probably am a very different Ghita than the one who stepped in Marrakech’s airport 67 days ago.

Like a very wise friend of mine once said: College is culture shock. You mature. And you grow up. And the best of all that is that you realise it.

I now realise it.

But it doesn’t stop here. The journey has yet to begin 🙂

Leave a Reply

