First Impressions

 

Hi, I’m Gianluca P and I am Italian, Croatian and Swiss but have lived my whole life abroad.

Gianluca Petito ID Picture HD 2-1

I’d like to let you know a little more about me:

  • I have lived 14 years in Shanghai where I attended primary, secondary and high school at the French School of Shanghai
  • My dream career is still quite blurry for me. I have interests in Economics (mostly Macro), Marketing, and Human Resources and would consider a career involving these fields.
  • I speak Italian, French, Croatian, English and Chinese (Mandarin)
  • My favourite place to be is in bed. As place to live I would say Shanghai (almost equal with Tokyo and Paris). I have travelled a lot with my parents and I can’t say I have only known the city where I stayed all my life. I believe Shanghai is one of the most dynamic, incredible and developed metropolises in the world, where life isn’t expensive and you never get bored. A great place for growing up open-minded.
  • Something people may not know about me is that I can make my chin dance.

My first impressions of ESCP Europe are extremely positive. When I first met and spoke to my classmates, I immediately saw the students were relatively social and multicultural. I felt like I knew them for a long time and it was easy to get along with them. My first impressions of the professors was even more positive: the quality of the professors is such that you actually want to listen to the subject you don’t like.

The London campus is really beautiful from the outside (looks like Hogwarts), and very comfortable to study in and live in on the inside. I also felt like almost everything is at our disposal. The only thing I could complain about is the position of the campus in London, which I would like to be more central.

Life as a student in London has its strong pros but also heavy cons! The good thing about London is that it is a beautiful city, with great architecture and great monuments to see. In my opinion, it is very easy to use public transports and easy to move in the city generally. Going out to cinemas, restaurants, for shopping shows many choices and finally, the nightlife is also dynamic and usually not deceiving. Another exciting point about London is that there are always festivals, concerts, specials events, etc.  You can find many interesting places for tourists and there will always be more tourists than London locals. However, the city in undeniably expensive. This includes the prices for accommodation and public transport (compared to where I was last year, paying about 1 pound to cross the whole city, Shanghai). Same experience for buying groceries.

I’m overall happy with my accommodation. It is 5 minutes away from my campus, and 5 minutes away from Tesco, which is really convenient in case you need something really quickly from either place. It is also 20 minutes away from the city centre by tube. As for the flat itself, I am also satisfied, the price is considerably cheap compared to student residences. My flatmates and I have all the necessary equipment, electricity isn’t expensive. However, gas is expensive and necessary, otherwise you freeze to death in winter!

Gianluca.

Leave a Reply

